Home > Service Management > Learning the lessons of blogging

Learning the lessons of blogging

It has been a long time since the last post and this has been for a number of reasons.

The positive one is that I’ve been experimenting  with Twitter and saying what I want to say in 140 characters.  For someone with a long experience of headline and caption writing this is still fun and challenging.

On a less positive note my mind has been taken up with other things the main one of which has been losing my job (more on that in later blogs no doubt).  Now this is where I need to be careful because my previous post 180+ days ago got me into some trouble with my employers and I don’t want to create any further difficulties for me (or them for that matter) by going into details.  This put me off returning to the blog for some time.   But with the passing of time I can see it was an interesting lesson in my own (and others’) naivety when it came to blogging.

Most stunningly stupid was my failure to realise that people might read what I posted.  And that those readers may also react to it.    

Lesson One:  You’re are talking to the world not chuntering to yourself  in a private room so don’t say anything in a blog you’re not prepared to say to anyone’s/everyone’s face

As you can see the previous post was about recruiting a new editor.  Despite some interest in the blog there was no serious candidates at all that could be tracked back to it.

Lesson Two:  Don’t listen to over enthusiastic proponents who tell you that in the new era social networking is the driver of all commerce and the solver of the world’s ills.  It’s just one of many channels with which to communicate with the world.

Despite the fact I put a great deal of detail into the blog about the role it was clear that almost no one (inside or outside of the company) read it all.

Lesson three: Keep it brief…

Categories: Service Management
  1. October 16, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Mark

    You may be quite surprised by thow much people read online. But the online world can be quite silent and you do not get a lot of feedback.

    I remember an old archaeology phrase which could equally apply to the online world. “Absense of evidence is not evidence of absense.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

